Dynamic and static stretching

Front Page Forums Complete Shotokan Karate Dynamic and static stretching

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    choci
    Participant

Hi all. I am a trainee KIMAX RADICAL FITNESS instructor. Kimax is Boxing, Muay Thai and karate high intensity cardiovascular workout using heavy bags for 7 rounds of 4 minutes. I alternate static with dynamic stretches in between rounds and I have found that my students as well as my flexibility has improved. I always start with dynamic stretches first. What are other peoples thoughts?

• This topic was modified 8 years, 9 months ago by choci.
    GMAU
    Keymaster

That’s interesting. I just checked out Kimax and Radical Fitness, I had never heard of that organization. I usually recommend dynamic stretches at the beginning of a workout, and then static at the end. This seems to be pretty well agreed upon. In your situation of 7 rounds, it seems that you should use dynamic stretches after each round, and then a final set of static stretches after the seventh round. This will keep the heart rate up, blood flowing, and allow for some recovery between rounds. That is just what I would do, but I would love to hear other ideas!

Magis
    Participant